22 February 2008

Best Original Screenplay

Here are the nominees for reference: Diablo Cody (Juno), Nancy Oliver (Lars and the Real Girl), Tony Gilroy (Michael Clayton), Brad Bird, Jan Pinkava, Jim Capobianco (Ratatouille), and Tamara Jenkins (The Savages).

Who Should Win: Tony Gilroy (Michael Clayton)

I can already hear Eric bitching about this one, but in my opinion (and many others), Michael Clayton was exactly what it was billed to be: a Hollywood film for thinking adults. Now that's a scary thought, but I think Gilroy's accomplishments are far more successful than the other nominees.

The WTF? Nominee: Nancy Oliver (Lars and the Real Girl)

She gets points in my book for a handful of things, most notably never treating Ryan Gosling's Lars as character to be mocked. However, most appreciation for Lars and the Real Girl isn't because of her, or director Craig Gillespie, strengths as it is the actors'. Gosling is impeccable (as always) and received fine support from Patricia Clarkson, Kelli Garner and Emily Mortimer, all of which carry Lars and the Real Girl much further than the collective efforts of anyone else. Kudos though for the Academy recognizing female talent in the writing department.

No comments: