13 December 2009

Michael Haneke Is the Big Winner at This Year's European Film Awards

Michael Haneke's The White Ribbon [Das weiße Band] claimed three major prizes at the European Film Awards yesterday, taking home prizes for Best Film, Director and Screenwriter. Last year's Oscar winner, Slumdog Millionaire, was the People's Choice for Best European Film, and Peter Strickland's Katalin Varga was named the European Discovery of the Year. Ken Loach and Isabelle Huppert were also honored for Lifetime Achievement and Achievement in World Cinema respectively, and Andrzej Wajda's Sweet Rush [Tatarak], which stars Krystyna Janda and screened at this year's NYFF, was the recipient of the FIPRESCI critic's prize, which was announced earlier. Complete list of winners below:

Film: The White Ribbon [Das weiße Band], d. Michael Haneke, Austria/Germany/France/Italy
Director: Michael Haneke - Das weiße Band Actor: Tahar Rahim - A Prophet [Un prophète] Actress: Kate Winslet - The Reader Screenwriter: Michael Haneke - Das weiße Band
Cinematographer: Anthony Dod Mantle - Antichrist; Slumdog Millionaire
Prix d'excellence: Brigitte Taillandier, Francis Wargnier, Jean-Paul Hurier, Marc Doisne, sound design - Un prophète Composer: Alberto Iglesias - Broken Embraces [Los abrazos rotos]
Discovery: Katalin Varga, d. Peter Strickland, Romania/UK/Hungary
Documentary: The Sound of Insects: Record of a Mummy - d. Peter Liechti, Switzerland
Animated Feature: Mia and the Migoo [Mia et le Migou], d. Jacques-Rémy Girerd, France
FIPRESCI Award: Sweet Rush [Tatarak], d. Andrzej Wajda, Poland
People's Choice Award: Slumdog Millionaire - d. Danny Boyle, Loveleen Tandan

No comments: