01 December 2009

Oh, the Independent Spirit Award Nominations...

The nominations for the 2010 Independent Spirit Awards were announced this morning, with few surprises. Really, I have little to say about them aside from being puzzled, but not surprised, by seeing Lee Daniels among the Best Director nominees. A lack of love for both Humpday and Zooey Deschanel put a smile on my face, but everyone seems to be confused as to why Goodbye Solo only nabbed one nomination. Oh, and I hate when they pull shit like nominating An Education in the Foreign category, but The Last Station in the Feature one. -- but here they are:

Best Feature

(500) Days of Summer, d. Mark Webb, USA
Amreeka, d. Cherien Dabis, USA/Canada
Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire, d. Lee Daniels, USA
Sin Nombre, d. Cary Fukunaga, Mexico/USA
The Last Station, d. Michael Hoffman, UK/Germany/Russia

Best Director

Ethan Coen, Joen Coen - A Serious Man
Lee Daniels - Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire
Cary Fukunaga - Sin Nombre
James Gray - Two Lovers
Michael Hoffman - The Last Station

Best First Feature

Crazy Heart, d. Scott Cooper, USA
Easier with Practice, d. Kyle Patrick Alvarez, USA
Paranormal Activity, d. Oren Peli, USA
The Messenger, d. Oren Moverman, USA
A Single Man, d. Tom Ford, USA

John Cassavetes Award (for features made for under $500,000)

Big Fan, d. Robert Siegel, USA
Humpday, d. Lynn Shelton, USA
The New Year Parade, d. Tom Quinn, USA
Treeless Mountain, d. So Yong Kim, USA/South Korea
Zero Bridge, d. Tariq Tapa, India/USA

Best Screenplay

(500) Days of Summer - Scott Neustadter, Michael H. Weber
Adventureland - Greg Mottola
The Last Station - Michael Hoffman
The Messenger - Alessandro Camon, Oren Moverman
The Vicious Kind - Lee Toland Krieger

Best First Screenplay

Amreeka - Cherien Dabis
Cold Souls - Sophie Barthes
Crazy Heart - Scott Cooper
Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire - Geoffrey Fletcher
A Single Man - Tom Ford, David Scearce

Best Male Lead

Jeff Bridges - Crazy Heart
Colin Firth - A Single Man
Joseph Gordon-Levitt - (500) Days of Summer
Souléymane Sy Savané - Goodbye Solo
Adam Scott - The Vicious Kind

Best Female Lead

Maria Bello - Downloading Nancy
Nisreen Faour - Amreeka
Helen Mirren - The Last Station
Gwyneth Paltrow - Two Lovers
Gabourey Sidibe - Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire

Best Supporting Male

Jermaine Clement - Gentleman Broncos
Woody Harrelson - The Messenger
Christian McKay - Me and Orson Welles
Raymond McKinnon - That Evening Sun
Christopher Plummer - The Last Station

Best Supporting Female

Dina Korzun - Cold Souls
Mo'Nique - Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire
Samantha Morton - The Messenger
Natalie Press - Fifty Dead Men Walking
Mia Wasikowska - That Evening Sun

Best Cinematography

Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans - Peter Zeitlinger
Cold Souls - Andrij Parekh
A Serious Man - Roger Deakins
Sin Nombre - Adriano Goldman
Treeless Mountain - Anne Misawa

Best Documentary

Anvil! The Story of Anvil, d. Sacha Gervasi, USA
Food, Inc., d. Robert Kenner, USA
More Than a Game, d. Kristopher Belman, USA
October Country, d. Michael Palmieri, Donal Mosher, USA
Which Way Home, d. Rebecca Cammisa, USA

Best Foreign Film

An Education, d. Lone Scherfig, UK/France
Everlasting Moments [Maria Larssons eviga ögonblick], d. Jan Troell, Sweden/Denmark/Norway/Finland/Germany
The Maid [La nana], d. Sebastián Silva, Chile/Mexico
Mother, d. Bong Joon-ho, South Korea
A Prophet [Un prophète], d. Jacques Audiard, France

The rest of the awards are available over at IndieWire.

1 comment:

Charles Lyons said...

You really need to see THE BAD LIEUTENANT: POCNO. Right, directly up your isle my friend.